Quick and Hearty Barley Salad

2F445114-124A-42CE-B9E3-6D22127463FE

7AB741BB-A9CD-47C6-9386-208DA7FDD477

I love having the time to come home and actually make lunch in between classes, but it’s a rare luxury! Last week I had a fridge full of fresh veggies and the weather was warm, so I just threw together what I had to create this yummy salad. Trader Joe’s always delivers on its convenient and delicious products, and I was pleased to find a cooks in 10-minutes packet of barley. I often ate barley at home because it’s a common grain in Korean dishes, but I knew it would hold up well in this salad too.

Ingredients for the salad (though honestly, just use whatever veggies you have!):

– yellow squash
– radish sprouts
– kale/chard/spinach
– cherry tomatoes
– barley, or any hearty chewy grain you like (farro, orzo)

the dressing:

– 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
– juice from half a lemon
– small clove of garlic, chopped
– fresh parsley
– salt n pepper to taste

I also ended up having leftovers to eat for dinner, which I couldn’t resist taking another photo of because the colors were just so darn pretty. (I added a soft-boiled egg to have some extra protein, too)

7E23DB6C-5DF2-4587-B340-2F65739303BDSimple, delicious, and so healthy. All wonderful things!

Leave a Reply

