L’espirit de la Mer and Subsequently, Some Olive Oil Cake

Crickets were making quite the ruckus on the blog frontier, but I’m back! May truly was one of those crazy months; it could very well be described as fantastically frenzied. I entered, somewhat clumsily, into my mid-early-twenties, threw a successful pickling party (more on both those things later), and traveled to NYC to visit my dearest friend Diane. It was a lot of nonstop everything, but hey, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Kinfolk’s L’espirit de la Mer dinner in Brooklyn happened to land right in the middle of my NYC trip, and when I saw that it was to be hosted by Karen from Sunday Suppers  my decision to attend was pretty much made. I’ve been an ardent fan of her vision for inspiring community through shared food for a long time, so I thoroughly enjoyed her beautiful space, carefully thought out menu, and our short but lovely conversation together!

Kinfolk - Sunday Suppers
We had a mediterranean-inspired dinner that was a refreshingly simple tribute to the sea. The beet and herbed yogurt purée stole my heart, the striped bass was gloriously fresh, and the olive oil cakes with rose cream demanded to make a reappearance in my own kitchen.

Kinfolk - Sunday Suppers   Sunday Suppers - Kinfolk dinner

Kinfolk Dinners - Sunday Suppers

Talk about gorgeous! I loved watching the warm light slowly trickle out throughout the night as the bellies got fuller and the words more lingering.

Sunday Suppers - Kinfolk dinner
The best part of everything was sharing it with my one and only frangipane, Diane. She’s such a beaut! How I miss her so already!

So remember how the olive oil cakes were demanding? Here they are, happily gracing my marble slab. Seriously so delicious – the salty pistachios complement the sweetness of the rose and cake super well.

Olive Oil Cake with Rose Frosting and Salted Pistachios    Olive Oil Cake with Rose Frosting and Salted Pistachios

Olive Oil Cake with Rose Icing and Salted Pistachios

Karen made these with freshly whipped cream scented with rose, but I only had powdered sugar on hand and thus this icing was born. Happy serendipity, cause I like the way they look! Kinda like they’re dressed for a party. 

For the cake –

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp kosher salt
2 large eggs
3/4 cup whole milk
1/2 cup mild-flavored olive oil

Preheat oven to 325F. Oil mini-bundt pan (make sure to get all the little cracks!). Whisk first 5 ingredients in large bowl and the rest in another. Gradually whisk the wet into the dry. Scoop batter until it barely comes up to the where the grooves of the bundt ends.

Bake for 15-20 minutes, until tester comes out clean. Let completely cool.

For the icing –

1 cup powdered sugar
1-2 tsbp warm water
1 tsp rose extract
crushed salted pistachios

Mix powdered sugar with water one tablespoon at a time. Add the extract at the end. Ice each cake and sprinkle with pistachios.

Leave a Reply

